Our first month as a 4

I write this after surviving the first month as a 4. And yes I say surviving as I feel like that is what we have done! It has been exceptionally hard but at the same time, I feel like we’ve been a foursome forever.

After G’s arrival on the Thursday, we didn’t get home until 8pm on the Friday evening. As much as I wanted my little family together, it was wonderful to have that first night home without E. I knew she was safe and we were so tired it was lovely to be able to go to bed.
E arrived home on Saturday morning and it was wonderful to see her. She was very clingy but took to G straight away.

I think we did so much better this time around. There wasn’t a massive influx of visitors. As wonderful as it is to see everybody, and as every new Mummy and Daddy knows it’s fantastic to show off your new baby, it was more important for us to spend some time as a family. To take time to adjust, to be a family again after so long apart. Only booking 1 visitor in a day helped that along perfectly.

So what have we done in the last month:

  • Ventured into the outside world as a 4 and a 3. I felt exceptionally proud taking them out on my own. Taking 2 children under 2 to a supermarket is no easy task. Especially when said supermarket has removed most of the parent and child bays to nowhere near a trolley park. But that is another rant.
  • Spent a lot of time changing nappies. 
  • G has reflux. There has been a lot of sick and a lot of sleepless nights. But hopefully, with thanks to Gaviscon Infant this is slightly more under control. 
  • Started to get into a new routine and find our new normal. Our normal will change a lot over the next few months following Chris’ diagnosis and with the beginnings of his treatment however for the moment, the path is fairly smooth. 

I was always worried before G arrived as to how I would fit everything in. New little people are demanding. So are toddlers. But in exceptionally different ways. I’ve tried really hard to split my time but it hasn’t always been easy and E is nearly always the one that has to wait. I’ve tried the following to make sure both get some special time. 

  • E and I have a special hour every day. I try and feed G and settle her off before E and I do an activity together. The telly goes off and we do. Be that painting, playing outside, making duplo houses, it is time just for us. 
  • The jobs can wait. I feel guilty even saying that. I try hard to keep on top but at the end of that day I want my children’s memories to be the fun we had, not that their pyjamas weren’t creased when they put them on.

Going forward we shall continue to take each day at a time. It’s all you can do really. But life as a 4 is fantastic and I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

Leave a Reply

