Where would you go…

Someone on Twitter asked today “If you had a time machine, where would be the first place you’d stop”.

I know mine. Without a shadow of a doubt I want to go back to before my dear step-dad died and say so many things that went unsaid.
I’d want to tell him how much I loved him, to say thank you for everything he ever did for us without any hesitation. To thank him for how happy he made my Mum, for all the happy memories that we made. To say sorry for all the time I was probably far more difficult than I needed to be.

But there are other things I would want to say. I’d want to tell him to go to the bloody doctors rather than just say “It’ll be ok”. I’d want to ask him to stay around for a bit longer, there are so many more happy memories to be made that he’ll now see in such a different way. I’d want to tell him how life without him just has a massive big void in it that seems completely impossible to fill. And I’d want to tell him that I’ll look after Mum. I can’t do everything but I do what I can. It doesn’t feel like a lot most of the time but it’s the best I can do.

There are other places I would want to visit and decisions I would want to remake. Some small, some big. I’d want to go and visit other people and be that little man on their shoulder that said “Are you sure you want to do that?”

It got me thinking too…

…Where would you go if you had a time machine?

4 thoughts on “Where would you go…

  1. Ah this made my heart melt and I am crying!! I have a step dad. He’s amazing and so supportive. He knows I love him but maybe I need to tell him more often! If I had a time machine I would go back to before my grandma got dementia. So many things I wish I could tell her! xxxxx

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    So sorry for your loss. But I imagine most of this he does know. But you’re right you can never tell someone too much how much you love them. Me… I’m not sure where I would go. For the moment I am blessed and content with my life. So perhaps back to witness a big even in history like the suffragettes burning their bras, to walk along a Victorian street, or the day when won the war. I can’t decide 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

